The 2014 Honorable Robert C. Zampano Award for Excellence in Mediation

Thursday June 12, 2014 – Thursday June 12, 2014

221 Church Street

View MapMap and Directions | Register


In 1993, CM’s Board of Directors established The Honorable Robert C. Zampano Award for Excellence in Mediation in honor of, and now in memory of, the late United States District Court Judge Robert C. Zampano, a pioneer in mediation and alternative dispute resolution.  This award recognizes and celebrates leadership, initiative and creativity in mediation in Connecticut.  This year CM recognize Jane Beddall, M.A., J.D. and Attorney Jay H. Sandak at an Award Ceremony scheduled for Thursday, June 12, 2014, at The Quinnipiack Club, 221 Church St., New Haven at 5:30 p.m. Supreme Court Justice Richard Robinson & Donna Morris, J.D. will be presenting the awards.

(Individual Tickets for this event are $50.00, of which $20.00 is tax deductible, and will benefit Community Mediation, Inc.)

We ask that your organization be a Zampano Award Sponsor.

  • $5,000 Platinum Sponsorship:  Sponsor with unlimited admissions, signage at the event, program recognition, recognition in all publicity related to the event, including our website
  • $2,500 Gold Sponsorship: 6 admissions, program recognition and recognition in all publicity related to the event, including our website;
  • $1,000 Silver Sponsorship: 4 admissions and recognition in the program and on our website;
  • $500 Bronze Sponsorship: 2 admissions and program recognition.Jane Beddall

Jane Beddall is the principal of Dovetail Resolutions LLC, a mediation and consulting firm with a focus on business mediation, family wealth mediation, and strategic planning to prevent future conflicts. Ms. Beddall graduated from Trinity College with a B.A. in Economics in 1979.  She then served as a VISTA volunteer in rural Colorado.  In 1984, she received her law degree, cum laude, and her M.A. in Public Policy Analysis, with a concentration in conflict resolution, from the University of Pennsylvania.  Her career has included a judicial clerkship, the private practice of law, service in the public sector, and not-for-profit work. Ms. Beddall has taught as an adjunct moot court instructor at the University of Connecticut School of Law and as an adjunct instructor of Alternative Dispute Resolution at the University of New Haven. She is past president of the New England Chapter of the Association for Conflict Resolution. Ms. Beddall is Co-Chair of the Alternative Dispute Resolution Section of the Connecticut Bar Association and in 2007 was appointed by the President of the CBA to the CBA Legal Fee Disputes Resolution Committee. She has also served as a volunteer mediator for Community Mediation, Inc., of Hamden, CT. She enjoys speaking to legal, business, and other groups about mediation and conflict management, as well as writing about these topics.

Jay SandakJay H. Sandak has practiced in Connecticut since 1971. Jay currently has  a Alternative Dispute Resolution practice with an emphasis on mediation. Jay’s approximate 35 years as a trial attorney has formed a solid foundation for him when he serves as a private Mediator and Arbitrator. He is a Fellow of the American College of Civil Trial Mediators, a member of the Association of Attorney Mediators and a member of the American Arbitration Association Panel of Neutrals. He has and continues to serve as a Special Master for the U.S. Federal District Court of Connecticut and the Connecticut Superior Court negotiating settlements where he has served for almost twenty years. Jay has conducted over 200 mediations covering business relationships, both medical and legal professional liability and catastrophic personal injury claims involving death and severe disabilities. In addition Jay has arbitrated numerous civil disputes including a soft-ware licensing case with multi-million dollar claims, a municipal liability dispute and partnership dissolution disputes.






Silver Sponsor

Moore, O’Brien, Yelenak & Foti

W.D. Stempel, LLC



Bronze Sponsors

Adelman Hirsch & Connors, L.L.P.

Bender, Anderson & Barba, PC

Brenner, Saltzman & Wallman LLP

Lewis Chimes, Esq.

Connecticut Bar Association

Kathleen Conway, Esq.

Dovetail Resolutions, LLC

Garrison, Levin-Epstein, Richardson, Fitzgerald & Pirrotti, P.C.

Gordon ADR

Koskoff Koskoff & Bieder, PC

Ethel & Abe Lapides Foundation, Inc.

Quinnipiac University School of Law

Silver Golub & Teitell, LLP